Southbank Centre – Paul Lewis

Where: Royal Festival Hall

When: 5th June 2018

Info: The Opus number 119 links the first and last pieces, which otherwise could not be more different. The first is the witty and occasionally eccentric set of 11 Bagatelles by Beethoven. The last is Brahms’ final work for solo piano, four lyrical short pieces that show the essence of the composer at his strongest and most succinct. Two Haydn sonatas feature on either side of the interval. The E flat major sonata is lively and genial, the B minor one full of mercurial, shadowy tension.

Southbank Centre – Paul Lewis

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply